UK opens e-gates to Australians and New Zealanders

The UK is now allowing a range of new passport holders to use its e-gate automated system.

As of June 2019 passengers holding passports from Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, the USA and Canada will all be able to simply swipe their e-passports and bypass frustratingly long immigration queues. In total, approximately six million visitors are expected to pass through the e-gates after June. The UK will also abolish its landing card system as a part of these changes.

“The expanded access to e-passport gates and the withdrawal of landing cards is part of our work to transform the UK’s border, providing a quicker experience” says UK Immigration Minister, Caroline Nokes.